Day #11 . . . “Before” Pictures are a sobering motivator

So I decided that I needed to take some “before” pictures for my blog journey to thinness.  (I think I may have mentioned this in an earlier post.)  My coach took a couple snaps of me when I went for my one-week weight-in, but I wanted some in my one-piece swimsuit so I could show as much as possible, and also take after pics in the same thing each time.  I was too embarrassed to even have my husband take the pictures, so I took them myself using a tripod and a delay on a digital camera.  While I’m not in quite as bad a shape as my friend Violet here in the picutre, let me just say that they were quite sobering. 

Thankfully, this is NOT me. :)

There is a reason I avoid getting my photograph taken, and that is because my mental image of myself isn’t in line with what I see there.  I shot front, back, and both sides and let me tell you, it took me from denial to reality in about a minute – a hard minute that it took for me to examine these photos on my laptop.   I’m glad I at least lost 10 pounds before I took them.  But now they are a tool for me.  An inspiration to stick to my resolve to go all the way this time.  Now, mind you, I certainly won’t be displaying them until I have some good “after” shots to go alongside them.  I’m not that brave.  In fact, I think I’m doing pretty good just blogging about the food and the whole process of being on this Ideal Protein  program.   I’m not a public dieter – never have been.  I told talk about it, boast about it or even tell anyone about it.  I’m just not that person.  But, this time, I need support!  So in a couple of weeks, I’ll be sending the link to this blog around to everyone I know – a big deal for me.  Yup.  And right now, I’m planning on revealing the “before and after pics” the second week in December.  Just after my birthday, or maybe even on my birthday. 

In sum, I do recommend that if you are having a difficult time sticking to your guns on the Ideal Protein diet, or any program you’re working with, that you try this technique.  You don’t have to have a tripod.  You could set the camera upon a dresser or something, and most digital cameras have the delayed shot.   Dress in something that shows your whole body, like a one-piece swimsuit or a leotard.  Or even a tight tee-shirt and shorts.  Whatever puts it all out there without being gross.  There is a limit! 

The situation on the hunger front is much better.  On Wednesday, I went out to lunch with a friend of mine.  I was worried about  going out to eat, but we went to a restaurant in downtown Seattle called Bambuza. It’s a Viatnamese Bistro, and I had looked at the menu online before we went there and determined that if I couldn’t get the Asian chicken salad without peanuts or the lime vinegrette, then I would just have the satay and have my vegetables when I got back to the offices.  But they were very accommodating, and their chicken satay was grilled, and I got it prepared without any peanut or other sauce, so that was about 3 ounces and there was another 2 or so on the salad.  (By now I have seen enough meat on the scale, that I can look at it and tell about how much is there.)  For the salad part, it was shredded cabbage which I had them bring dry with limes on the side.  I used the lime juice and sea salt, and it was a great salad.  I had unsweetened tea, and it turned out to be a very positive experience.  I also noticed that this lunch lasted me until after 7:00 p.m.  I had a hard time getting my Ideal Protein food down that night and had to eat it in two sittings, which is something that I’ve started doing in the two days since then as well.  I find that if I break up that evening meal into two parts, it just works out better for me.  I’ve been spacing them about two hours apart. 

Anyway, I also noticed I got a comment from somone…. yay!  Thank you!  I really appreciate your supportive comments.  Please come back and visit my blog often.  Please link to your blog as well.  Let’s share with each other because I know that there are a lot of us out there who have a long way to go.  Let’s do it for ourselves, our spouses, our children and our futures.  Yay!  Ideal weight – here I come!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day #11 . . . “Before” Pictures are a sobering motivator

  1. Ree says:

    This is really cool! I especially like the details you provide. Most times when i go out to eat on IP, i feel like im hitting a wall and that whatever i do, im probably cheating anyways and that sugar and other restricted items are going to creep in without my knowledge! This is so reassuring to know that you are doing well on the diet while occasionally eating out.

Leave a Reply

