Ideal Protein Diet – Solidarity with a friend

Hello there!  I just got back from a couple of days down in Portland where I was taking some training with a co-worker and dear friend of mine.  We have such a great time when we get together, it always seems like a boondoggle, no matter how important the work I’m doing there or the reason for my going.  This time I was there to take a two-d

It also helps that neither Holly and I are exercising at the moment - though we both intend to get started after the first of the year in some fashion.

ay training on Adobe Captivate to make some e-Learning modules at the office starting at the first of the year.  But I digress.  The point of this post is to tell you how much I appreciate having  friend who is also on a serious weight-loss plan. I mentioned her on one of my very early posts.  She’s on the Medifast diet.  It is very similar to the Ideal Protein plan, except that it allows more carbohydrates and they don’t intend for you to be nor do they want you in a state of ketosis. 

Holly and I were taking this Captivate class together, so it was really nice to get up in the morning and be with someone who could not go to the Starbuck’s and get a pumpkin spice muffin.  It was also nice to try to figure out a similar lunch we could have downtown that would not wreck our respective plans.   We were successful in that endeavor, by the way, but hitting up the QDoba and having a steak taco salad with only the meat, lettuce, pico de gallo and a little hot sauce.  For dinner, we both ate plan food and then headed off to a movie where neither of us could eat popcorn either.  I had to go and get a water from the concession stand and it really wasn’t too hard to resist not getting anything because I knew that if I did pick something up, I’d be taking it back and my friend would be looking at me like “WHAT ARE YOU DOING?”  The next day, we had plan-food breakfast and stayed put at the training facility and had plan-food lunch.  I say “plan food” – but while hers was actually Medifast plan food, mine was EAS drinks with 17 grams of protein, 2 grams of carbs, and 110 calories plus some raw vegetables from the supermarket.  More and more I’m using those EAS drinks as a substitute for Ideal Protein drinks.  Though I am still drinking my pomegranite drinks laced with collagen.  I don’t know if it’s helping with skin toning, but I’m hoping.  Most of the Ideal Protein plan food is over-priced for what you are getting and can be replaced with other foods of a similar nutritive value.  I figured that out early on.  But the desserts and the foods with collagen in them, I’ve still not found good substitutes for.  Not yet anyway.  But back to solidarity with a dieting friend….

After the class was over, Holly and I went to Outback Steakhouse where we got ourselves a nice lean steak and some grilled shrimp with vegetables on the side and coffee (mostly the coffee was for me since I had to drive back to Seattle and we’d had maybe 10 hours sleep the two nights I’d been staying with her!)  It was a great time, and we both stuck like glue to our diet plans.  She’s looking great.  She lost 17 pounds and is still going strong.  I shared with her the tip about vitamin D, and I think she’s going to start taking those to see if they help.

Well, it’s time for me to get my shower and make my way to the Ideal Protein office to pick up more vitamins.  I do believe those are worth buying and taking as well.  Haven’t replaced those yet either!  Have a great day, and may you all be healthy and happy today.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Ideal Protein Diet – Solidarity with a friend

  1. Deb Velmer says:

    Hi there,

    I started the Ideal Protein diet in April and have lost 25 lbs so far. Am looking for some packaged drinks/bar that I can substitute as $4.00 per bar is quite ridiculous. The Atkins bars and drinks seem to have high fat and higher carb counts. I believe that I have spent enough money on this plan but still have about 12 lbs to go on Phase One. We’ll be sending the younger daughter off to college this fall, and I really need to cut back.

    Any suggestions would be appreciated. My diet coach surely isn’t going to give me this advice! lol

  2. Raine says:

    Through research I have not found a good “alternative” to the Ideal Protein foods. I am actually in phase 2 which makes it more affordable since I am only purchasing breakfast and snacks now and have moved onto 2 meals. The problem with replacements is that they may have the protein levels but contain more carbs and sugars than Ideal Protein. I do believe some of the foods are overpriced but at an average of $85 per week, it is less expensive than other “food programs”. You can go straight to phase 2 if the plan is too expensive but the weight will take longer to lose but its probably the best option since there isn’t much on the market that meets the same guidelines of protein/carbs/sugars/calories ratios at a cheaper price.

    I have a friend who was on theplan with me and she went to Phase 2 (her husband lost his job and she needed to cut back) before she was “supposed” to. She is still losing about 2-4 lbs per week. She’s only having one Ideal Protein package per day, drinking her water, taking her supplements, and eating very lean protein (fish or chicken), eating her vegetables, and not eating any of the Ideal Protein “restricted foods”. It’s a slower loss than when she was doing the regimen as directed but it was the best option for her situation and it’s stil working for her.

    Best of luck, hope that helps!

  3. jnnbourque says:

    Did you know that the adkins bars only have 3 net carbs. These are the carbs that you count, since these carbs are what affect your blood sugar.

  4. f you look at the ingredient list you’ll see that calcium carbonate precedes chitosan. Calcium carbonate is in the IRIS list as a phos. binder. Not sure what the role chitosan plays. In people it was reported to bring down BUN/ Creat numbers but no mention of lowering phos was made.

  5. Lavod says:

    What do you mean by “EAS” drinks to substitute for IP drinks? What does “EAS” stand for?

Leave a Reply

